[ORANGE] "WARNING: Orange.net Alert Service"

Neil orange at studley.co.uk
Sun May 8 20:19:52 BST 2005


Hi

Really wouldn't bother reporting spam to Orange - they come up with
useful hints like this when I have done in the past......

Dear Neil

Thank you for your mail.

Never respond to unsolicited email or spam mail. To the individuals who send spam, one "hit" among thousands of
mailings is enough to justify the practice. 
Never respond to the spam email's instructions to reply with the word "remove." This is a ploy to get you to react to
the email and alerts the sender that your email address is open and available to receive mail, which greatly increases
its value. If you reply, your address may be placed on more lists, resulting in more spam. 
Never click on a URL or web site address listed within a spam. This could alert the site to the validity of your email
address, potentially resulting in more spam. 
Never sign up with sites that promise to remove your name from spam lists. Although some of these sites may be
legitimate, more often than not, they are address collectors. The legitimate sites are ignored (or exploited) by the
spammers; the address collection sites are owned by them. In both cases, your address is recorded and valued more
highly because you have just identified that your address is active. 

Complain to the sender's ISP.  Most ISPs have policies prohibiting spamming through their accounts. Once they are
notified that a user has been abusing their account, many ISPs will shut down the offender. 
Please contact customer.services at orange.co.uk if you need some advice on how to do this.

If the spam mail is being sent from an Orange.net account, please forward the entire message with full headers to
customer.services at orange.co.uk and we will evaluate the situation and take action as per our Terms of Service. Spamming
from an Orange.net account is not acceptable. 

Complaints about receiving harrassing/threatening/illegal material and emails

If you have received any other kind of email including, but not limited to, harassment, threats, or pornography,
please send a copy of the email message/s, including full file headers and any attachments, to
customer.services at orange.co.uk.

Please include as much detail as possible answering as many of the following questions as possible:
-       Do you know the sender?
-       How many times /how often have you received these messages?
-       Do you use a PC that is accessible to others eg internet café, or where friends/family may log on without name
or password?
-       Have you allowed anyone else access to your email account?
-       Have you approached a law enforcement agency about this matter?
-       Have you participated in chat rooms/web communities recently?
-       Can you think of any web sites or other places/people where your email address may have been
intentionally/unintentionally disclosed?
-       Do you wish this matter to be fully investigated by Orange?
-       Would you like some prevention advice?

If you are being impersonated by another Orange.net user,  please send a statement denying any involvement with the
account, as well as a copy of the mail (including full file headers) that is going out in your name. If you do not have
an actual email message, please give us a detailed explanation of why you believe you are being impersonated. 

Complaints about security holes/breaches in Orange.net

We take the operation of Orange.net very seriously and appreciate you working with us to keep Orange a safe and
productive environment.  If , in the unlikely event that you are unhappy with the security of our services or you have
suggestions to improve any aspects of security, we would like to hear from you. 
Please include as much detail as possible so we can forward these to our technical teams.


Kind regards

xxxxxx
Orange Customer Services



Neil
--

Sunday, May 8, 2005, 4:49:59 PM, you wrote:

WL> On 5/8/05, Kurt Hitchen <kurthitchen at yahoo.co.uk> wrote:
>> 
>> I just had the following "intercept" message in my orange inbox.
>> I noticed that all the recipients were on the orange domain; also some were
>> quite complex addresses that could not be "guessed" by a computer.
>> 
>> It's very rare I give out my orange e-mail address to anyone, I know it
>> could exist in other people's address books, but I'm slightly suspicious by
>> the fact all the recipients were "@orange.net"

WL> No one knows mine, and although I've received these alerts before -
WL> they're only vary rare.  Any address can be guessed by a computer,
WL> really...reckons I


WL> -- 
WL> Will   The Corridor of Uncertainty  
WL> http://www.cricket.mailliw.com/
WL>  - Sanity is a madness put to good use -





More information about the orange mailing list